Earth-tongue

Thank you all so much for the kind words and presents showered on my 3000th blip - I really will have to stay around now! It's lovely to see some new followers too - welcome to my journal.

November continued with the wet and windy weather we've seen so much of this autumn, but this afternoon there was a bit of a break, so I went for a restful walk round Old Sulehay Quarry. Sadly peace and quiet was rather lacking thanks to the baying of the hounds as the hunt and its followers circled round the nature reserve. 

A few more fungi were scattered in the mossy turf, including several groves of rather slug-eaten Snowy Waxcap, as well as a couple of  Blackening Waxcap and Limestone Waxcap. But I was most pleased to see a few of the rather peculiar, rubbery, liquorice-black fruiting bodies of the earth-tongue Geoglossum cookeanum, a species of rather mossy unimproved grassland, particularly on sandy ground. I've recorded it here before, but haven't seen it for a few years. so it's good to know that it's still doing OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.