Eagle and Fish Paperweight

8°C  -  38 mph Gale  -  Rain  -  Visibility 2.8 miles. No change in the weather.  Rained all day  - didn’t venture out except to Bank. My blip is a Paperweight that I bought from a Charity Shop many years ago.  I placed it on the Light Pad and clicked on Auto.  I thought it appropriate for today, because I received my annual Scottish Wildlife magazine this morning which was packed with news.  The article about red squirrels attracted me most.  It is a shame that they are still in decline. I learnt that it is those folk with country house estates that were to blame for the grey squirrel epidemic. In the late 19th Century they brought them over from North America just because they liked them!  They’re twice the size of the red squirrels and always win when it comes to fighting for food.  Fortunately, thanks to the Scottish Wildlife Trust’s Saving Scotland’s Red Squirrels project there a few areas where the red squirrel is beginning to return.  Sadly, not in great numbers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.