Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Liberal Club

I've blipped the beautiful stained glass windows in the staircase in Debenhams in Princes Street, Edinburgh, before. They are dedicated to Disraeli. The stained glass is a remnant of the Conservative Club which used to be on that site and is quite beautiful. This blip though is of the Gladstone Library which is on the first floor and is a remnant of the building next door, which Debenhams took over in 1978 - a remnant of another political party, the Liberal Club. They'd all be turning in their graves. I do approve though of the fact that these items have been preserved. They seem to have made use of the comfortable arm chairs which were empty when PaulaJ blipped it (if you search Debenhams on blip you'll find that and other pictures).
In spite of the rain I walked home via Stockbridge today. Missed the worst of it as I stopped in Soderberg it was my 10th coffee, so it was free, I do like that.
Bridge this evening which we won again, we won't be allowed back at this rate.
Steps
12500

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.