angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

an unexpected meeting

...waking up to such a beautiful sunny morning, meant that we had to put on hold the work that we had planned for today so that I could start to catch up on the work I am doing for the 'Wild Purbeck' project. Even with this good weather, I was unable to access some of the areas that I need to photograph as they are still under water. It feels as though it will take many weeks of dry weather before the countryside is free of mud and puddles again.

Several viewers expressed their surprise at the difference between the East and North aspects of yesterday's Afflington Manor image - particularly, how the two sides come together. So, I have added this image to my Blipfolio...

At lunch time, we made a quick visit to Kingston where I had a bold plan to get an image of Purbeck's largest house and estate. The history of the Encombe estate is something I have touched on in a few of my latest posts and, in a bit more detail, at the end of November. My fail proof strategy was to walk boldly down the mile of private estate road to seek permission to take some photographs. With this plan came the potential that I might be able to get some images without ever actually having to knock on the door. We were halfway down the drive when we spotted a black Range Rover coming up from the direction of the house. Needless to say, as it approached, it slowed to a stop and the electric window glided down to reveal James Gaggero himself at the wheel. He was beautifully spoken and extremely polite but, suffice it to say, our progress towards the property ended at that point.

With no time for a plan B, we returned to Kingston and took the public footpath to Houns-tout Cliff. No house today, but the beach you can see on Egmont Bight is the estate's private beach. There is a waterfall that cascades over the cliff in the valley bottom and there used to be a ladder to get down onto the beach but, as we haven't been for ages, I am not sure if it is still there. As the house itself is not visible from any public path or place, we will have to wait until this year's Kingston Fete, which is actually held in the grounds of Encombe House. In the meantime, the best I can offer you is this article from the Dorset Online Parish Clerk website...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.