Small Places

By PicLocata

Old technology

Remember when this was the leading edge of technology? A PC Card interface for SCSI* devices. I used it to connect my laptop to a CD-ROM drive, and I remember that the drive was larger and heavier than the laptop. In a pre-internet age, it gave me access to a full set of VMS manuals and much more, and that allowed me to work at home when needed.

Strange that my house, a car, and the journey from Perth to Livingston (where I worked) is little changed**, but the computer stuff seems to come from a vanished age. My employer (Digital Equipment Corporation) and the upstart that bought it (Compaq) are long gone too.

The other connector is (I think) for serial port to PS/2 keyboard and mouse. Plugged in is a green PS/2 to USB  adaptor.

Practicing for a still life session at my camera club. (Backblipped.)

* Small Computer Systems Interface.
** OK, there is a new bridge and interchange on the route, but the journey takes just as long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.