Geocaching takes an unusual turn...

I left George Square with my geocache map on my phone and headed to Kelvingrove Park. Decided to grab a cache or two then visit the museum/Art Gallery. 
Just after I passed yoga twig man was a cache. I slowed down as I got close and became aware of something nearby. It was a grey squirrel. Now we don’t have squirrels of any sort so I was quite happy and amused to have it following me. A bit less amused when it was nudging my ankles. It’s times like this that you envy people whose feet get cold and therefore wear proper grown up shoes. My toes were poking out of my walking sandals. No amount of shooing would put him off and when I stood still he tried to climb up my jeans. He looked very friendly but all my brain could think was; he’s just a rat with a big bushy tail and so I could imagine his giant teeth in my toes.
I was becoming concerned; well OK read that as panic setting in! Then a couple of Japanese girls came along and were enchanted by him and tried to get his attention to photograph him.
I quickly replaced the cache and made off double quick. The cache was hidden in the midst of the trunks of a multi trunked tree. I wonder if his winter stash was also there...
There are great advantages in urban caches. They might all be little black magnets stuck on black railings but they don’t follow you around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.