Wildwood Mountain

The grapes have been harvested, but the colors are still beautiful, especially in the morning and evening. This picture was taken into the sun so it's a bit washed out, but it's interesting to see how far up the mountain the vineyards extend. I think there have been some new rules about how much of the watershed can be planted, but this is an old vineyard.

Our mail has been slowly trickling in. The fact that our neighborhood was off limits last week meant that there was some fairly creative mail delivery going on this week. In anticipation of another power shut off I  ordered a solar powered back up cell phone charger which would have come in handy last week, although I think the problem went deeper than not being able to charge the phone. I was in the middle of writing my Blipfoto entry last Wednesday when the power went back on and I lost the whole thing when I tried to publish it. I think that the services connected with the power are not simultaneously turned over to their usual power source and there is a lag. Third time was a charm...

Our Blue Apron box couldn't be delivered, so they gave us a refund. It would have been nice to have the food since the grocery stores were either closed or out of food, but it would have been tricky to cook a Blue Apron meal on a barbecue.

I also ordered a sort of sling type vest with handles for Ozzie as I was worried about how we were going to get him into the car. As it turns out, Dana singlehandedly hoisted him into the car as the police were driving down the street with bullhorns evacuating the neighborhood. The package was delivered today by a guy in a UPS uniform driving a personal car instead of the familiar brown truck. He was unphased by the dogs who rushed to greet him when I opened the door and helped me herd them back into the house. We'll see how Ozzie takes to his new handles later today.

I spent some time putting the finishing touches on my gift of pillows for our friends who just moved into their rebuilt house
I am so relieved that they are back home again and still have a house where I can deliver the pillows. 

John is still raking leaves! He is a bit of a perfectionist, but there are an awful lot of leaves in some very odd places. The rain gutter has a leaf stuck in it which extends out over the edge of the roof and looks like some sort of dead bird in the dim light. During the day it looks exactly like what it is...a leaf that can't be reached very easily....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.