Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Limni on Evia

An ever so nice little town on Evia's West coast, North of the city of Chalkida and after the Kandeelio Mountain range.


As soon as I'd parked my car, close to this building along the waterfront, I looked if it was OK and from his seat nearby a man told me in English I could leave it there, ofcourse! I replied him in English and instantly he spoke Dutch to me... he'd recognized my accent as Dutch; he'd lived in Holland with his Sweetie then and learned Dutch.

After my stroll thro' the town centre I returned to this road by the sea and was addressed to in English: "Ah look! The last tourist of 2019 here!" A man from Sweden, who's found his residence here in Limni, recognized me as a tourist coz of my camera.
His company made me meet many many others who live here. Thus I met the landlady from whom I rented a room for the night; we spoke Dutch as she's raised in Belgium, where her father worked in the mines.

It was so surprisingly funny to be welcomed on instant and to find people, locals and Europeans, wo've been in many places and to find myself speaking Dutch to several of them :-)
Limni, another place in Greece that has warmed my heart.

backblip 11
here backblip 10

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.