Elaine and Colin

Left home at 1030 for my 1130 appointment at the Haemophilia Centre at Oxford. We were exactly on time but would have been earlier had it not been for some roadworks causing serious holdups near the M40 junction. Still had to wait as the Centre was seething with all and sundry, today was a clinic day and I'd never seen it so busy.

Doctor of the day was Dr Clair from County Down in Ireland. She was joined by (see extra) Sayma my usual nurse - (left) Sam the physio (right) and the chap in the centre was from Nigeria observing. All nice people and thorough. The appointment lasted just over an hour, and they were pleased with my shoulder progress. I explained that the new regime of prophalaxis for the shoulder had been a life changer. Ie no pain and more strength and movement in my arm.

I asked about the new drug which has arrived from Japan. It is currently only registered for use with Haemophilia s who have inhibitors - ie F8 doesn't work and makes them ill. They are considering the roll out to moderate cases such as myself in the future and I have said I would be very interested. The drug is engineered so that the body thinks it is F8 when it actually isn't. The method of injection is subcutaneously as opposed to intravenously and I would only need a weekly jab rather than every other day. Once it's in you it builds the level of Factor 8 to say 20% and keeps it there so you are always covered for whatever activity you might want to do.

After clinic we travelled to the Talk house PH at Stanton St John where we met the above. Elaine is Cs cousin and so it was a big catch up. After a good meal we finally parted Company at 4pm.

I'd drawn the short straw so I drove home walking in the house at 445pm. Oh yes and i took a wrong turn and did a slightly longer route than necessary. Ho hum..

Day 78 - shoulder

2000 units of F8 injected no problems at Haemophilia Centre by Saymer. All good despite the physio putting it thru lots of tests and exercises.

Dry start - but horrible wet afternoon.

As always thanks for looking in to day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.