William Adam

A bit like Frank Sinatra I dipped my toe back into work today.

I’d had a long standing commitment to attend an Area Support Team meeting in South Lanarkshire so, with the agreement of the National Convener, I went along under my own steam to sit in.

Lots of activity going on and some interesting development both for panel members there and in partnership working. I offered my perspective on a few things taking care to emphasise that I was no longer the voice of CHS. All seemed in fine fettle.

One of the good things about being retired was that I had time to arrive early and walk around Hamilton before the meeting at lunchtime. It is not a town I know very well. It is a mix of modern, some in need of TLC, and some magnificent grand buildings from 19th and 20th century.

There is also this church, the only one designed by William Adam. He was the architect of Hopetoun House and Duff House amongst others I believe. And also the father of the Adam brothers of whom Robert Adam had a major influence on architecture across the northern hemisphere as well as furniture design.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.