CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

.... and then I picked them, (the medlars that is)

I went down the garden to put the vegetable peelings on the compost heap, and looked again at the Judasz Tree's leav es which are still looking stunning. I don't think they willlast beyond the next string breeze. Today it was dank and just about drizzling.

When I turned to come back I saw that the medlar tree had lost most of its leaves which brought the medlar fruits into sharp focus. Normally they h=are well hidden by the thick clumps of leaves. I was surprised that they were still there as in other years they were eaten on the tree, probably by deer which occasionally visit.

I grabbed a coup[le of snaps and then picked the medlar fruit. I counted about thirty in good condition and that were not rotting. I took them intoi the cain and laid them out on a dry surface so that the 'bletting' process could continue. This allows the fruit to soften, as they are rock hard when picked, and brings out the soft texture so they can be added to jams, jellies and other preserves. Maybe this year I will manage to make a pot or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.