Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Chestnuts!

I travelled down to York today for a weekend of meetings, the rain was with me most of the way down on the train and continued when I arrived in York. Fortunately my hotel is walking distance from the station so I checked in and unpacked then went for a wander around the town by which time it had stopped raining. I went up to Clifford Tower which I haven't done before. Some lovely views and fortunately the rain stayed away while I was there. There was quite a wind as I was leaving though and I was very glad of the handrails as a couple of the gusts felt as if they could have blown me off the stairs if I hadn't been holding on. I've put a view of the Minster from the tower as an extra, it's trying to hide behind another couple of churches!
Went into Betty's Tearooms as one does and had some cinnamon toast and a pot of tea. Delicious, I haven't had cinnamon toast for a very long time.
Harking back to my blip of 2nd November, there were several of these chestnut sellers around. I didn't buy any, they were rather too over cooked, but I did check out the price £3 for a bag of about 8-10, so maybe the £12.50 per kilo wasn't so extreme. I rather liked the rainy reflections in the square and the evening light. Looks a bit like a Christmas card!
Steps today 17017

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.