Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Green tongue

Euthalia aconthea aconthea

There was quite a breeze early on and a lot of cloud, so I decided to wait and see if the weather improved. By 10:00 the cloud was broken and the sun popped out occasionally. Still a breeze, so I decided to have another go for butterflies.

The first 40m of my safari route is tall trees which offer a lot of shelter for the wind and also this is where the birdwing butterflies hang out.

There was plenty of butterfly action, but I just couldn't get near anything. This butterfly landed on a high leaf about 4ft above me. I was disappointed not to get closer and very nearly didn't bother to take a shot, but this green tongue kept flicking out, so I decided to capture a few shots for the records.

Back at the lab, I quickly realized that this was probably amongst the best butterfly images that I had ever taken and to think I nearly didn't bother!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.