As and When

By IronLantern

Thank you 2012, but let's try this again...

So my first year of Blipfoto was a bit of a fail. I do intend on uploading all of the photos I took, but I thought I should begin 2013 with a fresh start. Not a great start it seems, as I'm already behind.

Anyway, I thought I would use this chance to reflect on what 2012 meant to me.
I am glad to say that 2012 was undoubtably, the greatest year of my life. So that I don't bore you, I will break "My 2012" into its major events.


But before I mention the all the happiness, I remember that there is always grief and, this year, tears were shed for a life lost, when Alastair Senanayake passed away on 31 May 2012, at the age of 22. Al, you are sorely missed, and I will always remember you as the Last Son of Krypton.


My 2012

January - Turned 21
January - Took part in a magic performance in One World Week, as part of Warwick Illusion
February - Elected onto the executive of Warwick PhotoSoc
February - Auditioned and became part of the reserve team for BBC's Only Connect
March - Went on Climbing Tour to Siurana
April - Attended Gadget Show Live
April - Watched the Avengers in the cinema (3 times)
June - Ordered 240 Creme Eggs!
June - Unfortunately, had to say goodbye to the Sensational Seven
July - Partied on a boat, on the Thames, under the Olympic Rings
July - Toured America with Arun
July - SAN DIEGO COMIC-CON 2012!!!! (too much to mention, check July's blips (if I've uploaded them))
July - Sat on the "Friends couch" in Central Perk, in LA
July - Gambled in Vegas
July - Met Joshua Topolsky in New York
August - Went to Sri Lanka, and ate a lot of sandwiches
September - Went to Australia, and jumped on trampolines
September - Visited the Paddock of the Singapore F1, and saw Jenson Button on podium
September - Finally got an iPhone
September - Moved in with awesome new housemates
October - Saw DJ Jazzy Jeff perform in Leamington Spa
October - Shot photos for the Warwick Sport Naked Calendar
November - Participated in Movember with PhotoSoc/MotoSoc/PhotoStache
November - Went to Oxford for the St John's Guest Dinner
December - Completed a First Aid course
December - Planned and ran, in conjunction with Andy and Rachel, a very successful PhotoSoc Winter Tour to Liverpool.


But MOST IMPORTANTLY, in 2012, I met some of the best people I will ever know. People I will continue to see long after we have all graduated. I thank the members of Warwick PhotoSoc, Warwick University Climbing Club, Warwick Illusion, Engineering, and the university in general, for that immense, immense honour. It has been an absolute pleasure getting to know each and every one of you.

So for me, 2012 was all about friendship, and I wouldn't ask for anything more than that. And, it can be the only reason why this year was so magnificent.

But 2013 is now here, and I hope it is filled with just as much incredulity.



Oh, and the photo. We went for a New Year's Eve party in London, at a family friends'. As the ball dropped, fireworks we lit. Didn't think to take a tripod, so I had to shoot on 6400 ISO. Made the best of it, I suppose. It was mildly entertaining, but less so when one hit at tree and came straight at me. Terrifying, and also a bit annoying, as resulting explosion would have made for a really good photo, if I weren't running away. I like how this one has lit up the tree though, but wish it was more in focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.