Beewriter

By Beewriter

Mermaids

Oh it was cold, but....oh it was brilliant.

Victoria and I got in the water and decided to sing at the top of our voices as it made us feel warmer. Well, not really, but as we sang we didn’t feel the pain of cold before we went numb.

We met up with the other hard core skins swimmers half way round on our second lap and Manchester Mermaid took our pic. I didn’t take my GoPro as I need to get one of the floatable sticks. I don’t want my camera to sink to the bottom of the Quays.

It was a challenge to get dressed with fingers that don’t function but we managed it eventually. They had a brazier burning and it felt like heaven. As we stood shivering in our hats and Dry Robes (I picked up my brand new purple one today) Victoria said we looked like extras from an American movie where the down and outs all hover round a fire.

I raced home, had a shower and caught the bus to town to meet the coven. We went to the craft fair and flea market in the Cathedral. My toes eventually thawed out by the time we got the bus home.

A great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.