LornaL

By LornaL

November 9th 1939

Nov 9th Thursday

There has been nothing to record until today, except that in my private struggle, my amiable parent, following his policy of ignoring me, has not addressed one single word to me since that last entry was made. Nor I to him, honesty demands that I admit it.

In the world of public affairs - which are more important - there has been a lull, which was broken today by the explosion of a bomb at Munich in the Beer-hall*, just fifteen minutes too late to do any good, that is after Hitler and his thugs had left. 8 were killed and 63 injured, but one can scarcely doubt that it was not the guilty who suffered, or at least not the guiltiest.

Meanwhile Germany has been massing troops on the frontiers of Holland and Belgium – a move which I predicted two months ago. It was rather obvious. I am afraid there is not much doubt about it now. The only question is when. Garvin** thought November 11th, others say November 15th.

“The things that are going to happen have already happened”***.

*This was an assassination attempt on the life of Hitler, known as the Bürgerbräukeller Bombing, and carried out by Georg Elser
**Possibly James Louis Garvin, journalist, editor and author
***TS Eliot The Family reunion part 2, scene 1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.