Turtles All The Way Down

By Stacebob

In All Your Damaged Glory

Rich and I had planned to spend Day 4 of our Extra Long Weekend at the cinema then at a gig, but due to some dreadful weather and neither of us feeling 100%, we ended up staying home. It was a rather lovely day; a spot of housework, a trip to Gregg's to get lunch, then some TV catch up, watching The Omen (which Rich hadn't seen before) and I finished the book I'm currently reading.

I'd decided to take a break from the Southern Reach trilogy for this book; Someone Who Will Love You In All Your Damaged Glory by Raphael Bob-Waksberg. I don't know why, but I thought this might be a nice light slice to have a break from the intensity and creepiness of the Southern Reach trilogy. It wasn't! It was certainly different, but if I say that Bob-Waksberg is the creator of BoJack Horseman, you might understand a little of why it wasn't quite the cheery love-fest I was expecting. Still, it's very, very good. As with any anthology, there were a few stories that weren't my jam (mostly for being too short, but there was one from the perspective of a dog which didn't jibe with me at all) but overall it was very smart, often funny and usually relatable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.