horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Hoop

Meet Hoop (full name Guillemot the Hoople), who is now in a box in our bedroom waiting for the SSPCA.


Out for a 'clear the head' walk, and found him on a beach, one which is well-used by a LOT of dog walkers. He did occasionally try standing, but flopped down again quickly. Spooked every time the water came up, and slept most of the 2 hours I watched over him from just 7 feet away.


Towards the end of the 2 hours he wasn't even showing an interest in passing dogs (thanks to all owners who happily took a diversion round, and kept hold of their charges). Perked up a little, I think with the warmth. Enough to peck me a few times anyway as I tried a little food Guillemots have daggers as bills).


My supposition is he's just been really tired, and there were big waves today that threw him onto the beach. From there he didn't want to battle the waves, and clambered away from them, and has just flopped down completely shattered. Not a safe place to be.


Before Mel arrived back with the box I acclimatised him to me coming close. Not really any need, I could get to a couple of feet away without him trying to flee (a sure sign that not all was right). Fingers crossed for the little guy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.