Not forgotten

Every year, since finding Dad's uncle Jimmy on the memorial in Tatsfield Church in Surrey, I have thought I should go to the remembrance service there. Once again I have not made it but went to my local remembrance service instead and quietly remembered Great Uncle Jimmy my Grandmothers baby brother. He died age 25 on 30 October 1944 in Italy and is buried there. A chilling  description from the Commonwealth War Graves site for Cesena Cemetery reads: -
Most of those (775) buried in this cemetery died during the advance from Rimini to Forli and beyond in September through November 1944, an advance across one flooded river after another in atrocious autumn weather.
One day I will visit the cemetery and say hello to Jimmy from my Dad and  another day I will get to Tatsfield Church on Remembrance Day and possibly meet other relatives , many of whom still live nearby. I hope some of them go to remember him. 



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.