The New 60

It’s not often that my birthday and Remembrance Sunday coincide, but today it does.
This year I have so much to remember- not only all the casualties of war and in particular the uncle I never knew who is remembered by his extended family every year at this time.
He was just a boy, aged 18, the same age as my eldest grandson and died in France from wounds at the Battle of the Somme. My poor grandmother and I can’t remember it being talked about it when I was growing up. Stiff upper lips in these days.

But for me today, I am consumed by memories of last year when HL was so weak and ill , that Marie Curie sent along the crash nurses to help him shower, (not that he considered it necessary as he said he could still manage by himself). After they had gone, I asked him what it had been like and he said it was similar to being in a car wash. Humour was his forte.
He had been so determined to keep going to see all the year’s anniversaries and birthdays, culminating with mine and with that done he could be at peace.
So today is an exceptionally poignant Remembrance Day for this one old lady.

Just as I was feeling a tiny bit sorry for myself, the family arrived with a present that had me completely lost for words.... a racing green Brompton - the Rolls Royce of fast folding bikes.

Words failed me but things got even more surreal when I discovered a surprise party had been arranged by the family on the instructions of HL when he knew he wouldn’t be there to do it himself.

Suddenly it’s a different day and I feel HL is watching delightedly from the shadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.