Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

To who?

It was Remembrance Sunday today so I went to church in one of the churches I scoped out yesterday, another 14th century church which had been a Benedictine priory in days gone back. A beautiful church, Holy Trinity, Micklegate. I was early as ever so went for a walk around the block to kill some time. At one point I looked up and spotted what I thought at first was a cat on a roof but when I looked closer, I realised it was this magnificent wise owl. I don't know why he was there but he looked fab with the rich colours of the roof and the blue sky around him.
Church was interesting, there was great music with an excellent small (and young) choir but a fairly elderly congregation. Interestingly, they too are looking for a new rector. . The church itself was lovely, there were very old monuments, glowing woodwork, comfortable pews with cushions and lovely 14th century stained glass. (see extra). The church is clearly well loved and well looked after, but the congregation was tiny, only 10 in the congregation and 11 in the choir and sanctuary party.
I picked up my bag from the bnb after church and as I still had a couple of hours till my train I settled down for lunch in the 5* Grand Hotel. The hotel is a fairly new conversion of an old building and was very nice, and grand! Lunch was very pleasant freshly made and just £15 for two courses and tea. It also have me a comfortable quiet place to sit and read my kindle while I waited. The train was, unusually for a Sunday, both on time and quiet. It's nice to be home again. Colin met me at the station with a beautiful bunch of roses and drove me home which was just perfect.
Steps today, 8650, which is lower but OK

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.