Rodents rule

By squirk

Greedy

The jays are appearing more frequently and visiting the peanut feeders. Normally, they stick to monkey nuts but autumn must be in full flow.

I turned up an hour early to a meeting this morning. I realised this only after checking messages to figure out why the person I was meeting was late. She wasn't, of course. Being early and having a nice table in a lovely Italian coffee shop has its bonuses, chiefly raspberry croissants and delicious coffee. I managed to do some work, too, in that hour. 

It just so happened that a work colleague who is also a neighbour was on the next table. Being early was timely for her as I could look after her breakfast while she took a phone call. By "look after", she did say I could eat it, but I held back. In the end, the phone call was so long that the breakfast became lunch (for her – I still held back). 

The meeting when it came around was productive and tasty (more croissants, this time of the savoury variety).

I managed home for an afternoon of more research and writing, then I whizzed off to Dingwalls in Camden to see Goodbye Mr Mackenzie on their 30th anniversary tour of 'Good Deeds and Dirty Rags'. I saw them twice in Inverness when I was a teenager and they were just as rocking tonight. The venue was where they got their record deal all those years ago, so a nostalgic gig for them.

Dust - live from the night 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.