Berger

By Berger

The Trout Party.

We shall have our trout party tonight. Half-fermented trout party. It is a tradition we have had the last 15 years. A fisherman from the Valdres valley has supplied me with his fish all these years. I have worked to prepare it since this morning. Outside the sky is blue and the temperature 10 celcius below - perfect for a day skiing in the woods outside the city of Oslo, but I have to prepare for tonight. Taken the bones out and the skin off of 8 trouts. 5 kg in total. Enough for the 10 persons that will gather around the table. It comes with boiled potatoes, thin pancake of rolled dough, stiff flat bread, heavy sour cream, chopped red onion and beet root. Then a in between course of sorbe of mango, before the dessert of a thin chocholate and icecake which is a speciality of my Mrs.B. I have, based on long term experience with our guests secured enough aquavit and beer for the main course as well as and cognac and calvados for the coffee and dessert. Hope I will be able to take my ski tour in the woods tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.