And one for the animals

You could have had yet another photo of me at an Armistice commemoration but I spotted this dog with the purple poppy. As you know, from yesterday, I handed over a himalaya blue poppy wreath at the Cenotaph and I find it's the plight of the animals that affects me the most. So often you see images of dead soldiers on battlefields, in shell craters, rows upon rows of white CWGC headstones that you get a bit immune to it. The animals don't get so much publicity for what they did, the horses, donkeys, mules, dogs and even the pigeons that did such a fabulous job of getting messages through from and to the front lines.
I've posted an extra of the tableau that made me think very deeply about this when I visited the In Flanders Field museum in Ieper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.