Never forget

This is James Boyd, my grandfather. He fought in both world wars and was taken prisoner in both. He spent about a year in a German prison camp in WWI and five years in a German prison camp in WWII. When he returned home in 1945, it was on the day of his youngest daughter's 6th birthday (my Aunty Betty, my cousin and fellow blipper DoogieVanIsles's mum) and his sister's wedding. There was a big celebration on Ballindalloch Drive, Dennistoun, Glasgow, to welcome him home. I have a copy of a newspaper article that's very hard to read, but here are a couple of quotes from it:
News that he would be arriving home "...got around, and the neighbours arranged a grand party....Mrs.Boyd indulged in an orgy of baking and I saw a lovely iced cake with 'Welcome Home' on it just waiting be cut by the returned prisoner.... The decorations in the drive were really lovely....Music for the dance in the evening was provided by a neighbouring lad who played the accordion. The drive was black with a gay throng of people laughing, singing and dancing."  
It must have been quite the celebration.
My mum was in the W.A.A.F. and my uncle in the Scots Guards in WWII.
G's dad and uncle were in the Italian resistance.
My nephew, an American citizen, served in the US army in Iraq and Afghanistan.
I wonder if there's a family in the world that hasn't been directly affected by war. I know that my family and G's family have suffered from the wartime experiences of those who served.  
Imagine living in a peaceful world. One can only hope.
Extras: 
My mum spent some time in Paris during the war. In the first extra, she's posing in front of the Paris Opera House, and in the 2nd and 3rd, she's with wartime friends. I think that my mum had some good times during the war. She was a fantastic singer, and I can imagine her singing in clubs in Paris.
She wasn't a person who talked about the past or her experiences or who shared her emotions. I often wish that she was still alive so I could ask the questions that I'd love to have answered. I didn't see any of these photos while she was living.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.