and through the wire...

By hesscat

Suck the Blood from My Wound

Today at work was a bit of a relief, the weekend went well and today didn't have problems that could have happened. The last 2 weeks have left little time to blip never mind write anything. So I was thinking I was all ready to relax a little and my head was in the right place....

So we were off to the QMU in Glasgow tonight For Ezra Furman who we saw last year too. Work was obviously still busy enough for me to forget to print the tickets, so i quickly did that just before we left. There is always the regular "got the tickets?" routine as we leave and at various points of the journey. Tick, tick, tick, all present and correct.

The last time we were at the QMU was 2004 and before that 2002, both for Wilco when they played smaller venues. I recall being late for at least one of them, just arriving during the 2nd song... and I have no idea how we used to get there without google maps.... so much so that I had to check where it was. But on arrival at 19:45 I realised why we were always late, the curfew is 10pm and the bands start earlier, too early for us to get through... so we missed most of the support band.

Anyways.... we get our wristbands on to prove we are old enough to have a drink (really...) despite is not having a drink, through to security, present our tickets... er... I don't think these are the right tickets... eh? did you go see Ezra Furman last year? er... oh... oh ***** . In my haste/haze I printed off last years tix. Wait, tickets are in my gmail account... can I go back far enough? Oh oh... Where did you get your tickets... ticketweb? Yeah, I think so...... loading old emails... What's your surname...  oh er... cat ... yes, gmails loading.... and your first name.... hess... load more emails from the server... ok we found them... you're good, on you go. Ooshya... OMG... I did eventually find them... but Ms H wasn't able to come with us, so we advertised the spare for sale... oh imagine we found this out when we sold the ticket... i cant imagine where that conversation would have gone... anyway, moral of the story... read your tickets as well as checking your tickets.

And the gig was great, I had forgotten there was an upstairs to the QMU. As it came to the encore... I was suggesting to Mrs C they were saving my favourites (one more) tunes until the encore... 4 songs they played and none my favourites, I was a tad disappointed... on reflection having got back to the car... wait a minute, they played my fav favourite when they opened the show... and my 2nd favourite half way through... oh dear... I . enjoyed them when i heard my favs but it didn't click, had it had, I might have enjoyed the encore more. Moral of this story... when Mrs C says in the car on the way there, let's play the bit hits from the last album (which has my favs) as she did, don't say stop, I would rather hear them fresh tonight when they play them, as I did.

I probably need to start Monday again...

Oh, I attach an extra from the QMU, a poster of a gig with the Ramones, 1978, with disco by Paul Coia, for £1.50... wow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.