Caves

On a day of father and son Caves. Another very wet one.

I watched Earl Cave (the son) star with Monica Dolan in Days of the Bagnold Summer, a delightful gem of a film, a gentle coming-of-age story, terribly sad at times, wickedly funny at others, with wonderful cameos from Tamsin Greig and Rob Brydon. Plus a superb soundtrack featuring songs from Belle and Sebastian. It was a reminder of how a simple story, told well, shot beautifully, can be totally transporting. I loved it.

On the train back, I got a notification of the arrival of an Amazon package, which was strange because I'd not ordered anything in a while - trying hard to use my local bookstore for books and cutting down on my music intake. Once home, I opened the package to find a CD that I'd pre-ordered months ago to ensure the earliest possible listen: none other than Ghosteen from Nick Cave (the father) and the Bad Seeds. On first hearing, this could be his finest work yet. Mesmerising music. I love it already. And I love this kind of synchronicity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.