madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Dinner and Fireworks!

The Exile and I went for dinner with mutual friends, The town Planner and her BBC husband! He has just retired form his role as a reporter for Spotlight.  I had lost contact with them as there had been a falling out with them and Friend several years before she got ill. Sides had to be chosen and I chose Friend! The Exile went to school  with them both and then to University with the wife  and she was outside of all the things that led up to the event that broke the friendship for Friend. Time has passed and I'm more mellow! They were always solicitous of me when I bumped into them during Friends illness and my subsequent ill health. Friendship is a funny old thing - involving forgiveness and acceptance, and the recognition that even long time friends can exit ones life in different ways and for different reasons. It felt good this friendship has come back.
Also at the dinner were the Architect couple - I meet the wife in the woods walking her dog and she lives up the road from me in Vegan Jo's old house!  The Camera Man was there too which was a nice surprise. 
The conversation involved village gossip, music and town planning - plus child rearing! It's odd when this topic comes up, I have no anecdotes to tell and just listen and thank my lucky stars I  never had to go what they went through!
We watched the fireworks before dinner and time flew -  it's the first time in 3 years I've been able to eat with others without feeling anxious and wanting to leave! Oscar was home alone for over 4 hours! I'd left the lights and radio on to dull the effect of the fireworks! He was happily asleep on the kitchen sofa when I got back! he was even happier when we went out for a last walk and met up with The Exile and his mum! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.