Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Cockpit

This is where I spend eight hours a day making the world a cleaner, brighter, more re-used place.

The stone bridge is my main screen where my drawings appear full-screen and the forest is where all the drawing-related dialogue-boxes pop up, leaving my drawing screen nice and clear for me to see what's what. The dialogue boxes are not large which is why it still works with the screen up-ended. (Though to drag anything from one screen to another the mouse needs to dive along the forest floor.)

The Aurora Borealis is where I keep my email page and my file directory, side-by-side for frequent reference.

The Shard is where I keep my intranet (jobs list, drawing list, internal phone directory) and also my extranet (Google maps, ISO symbols). It's also where I keep my instructions, perhaps as .pdf mark-ups on Acrobat, or spreadsheets on Excel. Each of these is a full-screen window which I flip between as necessary.

The Shard and the Aurora Borealis are at 90 degrees to each other and my operating position is smack in the middle. I am beginning to suspect that all the twisting between these screens might be the root cause of my twingey, twisted lower back. In an attempt to mitigate this I am trying to train myself to sit with my legs spread, and not crossed, and I have an appointment booked at a local osteopath on Saturday morning. Unfortunately not the sorceress who fixed me up a treat at short-notice, just crawling distance from home on a Bank Holiday in May, but still an easy walk from my apartment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.