Dizzy2302

By Dizzy2302

Architect Charles Edwin Ponting's "Tiny Treas

All week I had looked forward to walking this weekend and whatever the weather I was determined I would .........down came the rain........but I still walked! Got VERY VERY wet but despite the rather "large" puddles my five mile round trip was worth every one of the 500 lost calories ;-). This unusual thatched church, the only one in Dorset, is one of my favourite buildings and I passed it today on my route. It was built in 1921, in coarse square rubble with a wooden bellcote. Its homely, rounded shapes seem to rise organically from its rustic setting. It owes its origins to the Manger family. Alfred Manger of nearby Stock Hill House had intended to build a church for local residents and estate workers, but died in 1917 before he could fulfil his plans. After the First World War, Alfred's eldest son Charles Harwood Manger took over the task. The church was built in part as a memorial to three family members (Charles's brother, cousin and brother-in-law) that had died in the war as the bronze memorial plaque records:

"Left all that was dear to them, endured hardship, faced danger, and finally passed out of the sight of men by the path of duty and self-sacrifice".

The chapel is designed in the Arts-and-Crafts style and is said to have been influenced by the Church of St. Agnes, Freshwater Bay (Isle of Wight). It is the tiniest of churches. My father in law's funeral, god love him, was held here and I can recall it being packed to the rafters!

Shall we continue with "Rules to celebrate getting old" 5 and 6?

5. Pay off your credit cards every month.
6. You don't have to win every argument. Stay true to yourself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.