Urban Jungle - Birmingham Style

I spent most of the day in Harrogate, then after about 40 hours there we departed for Birmingham.  A thoroughly miserable drive in bad traffic - thankfully as a passenger I could nap in the car.

Our hotel here feels like it's in the midst of an urban jungle - a view confirmed by some of the cops we're here with.  "If you go out of the hotel for a walk, don't go left" seems to be the advice...

There was a dinner tonight, followed by a pub quiz.  I'm not a huge fan of quizzes (I only like things I'm good at... not a nice quality) but one of the rounds was song lyrics, and some of those lyrics came from the Madness song "Baggy Trousers".

This reminded me of watching the Royal Variety Performance on TV sometime in the early 2000's and seeing this performance (yes, the vocals are iffy in places, but it's a performance with energy and heart).  I usually hate jukebox musicals, but this looked OK so MrsCyclops and I went to see the original west end production and it was AMAZING.  So many talented young people, such energy and colour and life, and so much great music.  Loved it.  Watching the performance on youtube has quite brightened up my evening!    

I really hope they revive it sometime soon - I did see a touring production in 2013 but that was a pale shadow of the original...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.