Point and Shoot

By shirleypickford

View from a footbridge

Sometimes it takes a while before choosing one photo from a day, even when all I did was fly into Beijing and check into the Grand Gongda Jianguo Hotel.  I was travelling with 29 friends and we arrived on two different flights because although we would be together for the cruise from Tianjin to Singapore, onward travel was divided between those flying back to Manchester and a group travelling via Hong Kong.  While awaiting the arrival of the second flight, I walked around the block and located the shops and restaurants.  One of my discoveries was a footbridge that would be very useful for crossing busy roads.

In the late afternoon I returned to the footbridge with the Nikon, looking for interesting light.  On the way, I saw an old lady sitting on a bench with her dogs.  I wasn't sure about approaching her, but when I was standing on the bridge I noticed that she had put the dogs in a bicycle carrier and was heading towards me.  I had just enough time to choose a viewpoint and take one snap on auto.

It was not until I had time to look at the photo properly that I saw the cycle shadows.  This was a lucky shot, though a little planning certainly helped.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.