Ellen

Last week my neighbour asked me if I knew of anyone who could quickly translate a eulogy for a family friend into English.  I volunteered myself, because why not, great practice and I was more than willing to do it quickly and for free.
What I didn't expect was for the gentleman who needed the translation to come around later with a bouquet and a bottle of red wine as a thank you.
Whilst doing the translation it occurred to me that English can be a tricky language to read if you don't know it, lots of silent letters (whereas in German you pronounce everything) and so I asked my neighbour about the gentleman's level of English, to which she responded that he was 'charmant'...and having now met him, I can agree with that description, but it really didn't help understand his level of English! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.