Every kid deserves a Pile of Leaves

It was pleasant this morning and Ellie wanted to play on the back deck, so I decided to sweep the leaves into a big pile and let her do what a kid likes to do. She really got into kicking the leaves around and then throwing them into the air; it was great fun watching her do exactly what I expected....so fun for her too. When we were done, she was so good about helping me put them in the compost barrel. She is such an easy little girl.....she loves to help me do the normal things of life. She likes to play, but I think she is happiest when she is helping us.....she smiles and looks for our joy.....I am amazed......I just hope all of this joy carries over to her teenage years. Oh dear......I am projecting way too far ahead.....I suppose it is normal to wonder since her Mom had such a difficult time finding joy as she grew older.......but Ellie is having a very different beginning to her life. She feels very loved and accepted......she think she feels successful even when she has to work through some unhappy times. 

I was never a teacher, like Sue who gave her students courage and honesty.....but I have attempted to give that quality to each of the children who have been in my care. As teachers or foster parents, we can plant the seeds, but we seldom get to see the ultimate growth....except in rare cases of ongoing relationships into adulthood....fortunately I have some joyful success stories to draw upon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.