Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

flying ants....

So yesterday we had torrential rain which of course brings out the bugs and other crawlies!  I woke up this morning, looked out the window and there were millions (and I mean millions) of flying ants crawling all over the yard.  The wings actually half filled a large black bin bag!!  This picture is on top of my water barrel - amazing wings...

I was having a meeting with my boss at lunchtime and  I  told him about the ants and he asked if I could bring him some as his family love to eat them (its common here)!  I took him half a plastic bag full of ants and then some of my neighbours came and filled bags as well so tonight plenty of people will be feasting on ants!  Some people eat them as they are  - others fry them.  They are very nutritious!

When I came back from my meeting there had been another heavy rain storm and I had forgotten to close my windows so the sitting room was flooded!  Seems like I spent most of the day cleaning up!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.