Islandscape

By Islandscape

Winter Sunset over Iona

I spent most of the afternoon at Loch na Keal waiting for the light. My first few stops were at the eastern end of the loch near Killiechronan where I watched an otter fishing and rolling on the seaweed for about an hour. I was on the verge of giving up and heading to some waterfalls on the southern side of the loch when, on impulse, I decided to drive further westwards to one of my favourite spots on the cliffs near Killiemor. There was a little slice of orange light, nothing inspiring, but as it was only half an hour until sunset, I decided to read a landscape photography magazine on my iPad and listen to some music in the Land Rover. Just as I was about to leave and head for a quick swim at the pool at Craignure, I noticed a slice of orange light begin to glow on the horizon. I knew that I had to move quickly before it was gone so this was shot hand held (hence the aperture and ISO settings). I decided to place the horizon low to make the most of the stormy sky and the contrast of the sliver of fiery light of the sun setting behind Iona. The clouds are probably the edge of the weather front which is going to give us rain tomorrow, although I'm keeping my fingers crossed for snow which is forecast for the mainland.

As the burning embers of the sunset faded, I headed off down for my swim, quite satisfied with my relaxing afternoon spent waiting for the light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.