Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Variations on a Theme

I may be a little sad, but I got quite excited when the sun peaked through what seemed to be an impenetrable blanket of cloud early this morning.  Any plans to carry out domestic chores were abandoned in favour of a trip out to Cannock Chase.

As I parked up near Hazelslade the sun was still peaking through and I was looking across at some lovely scenes.  Frustratingly, by the time I'd got everything ready the cloud cover returned and despite an hour and a half of walking in the area, it never returned.  Still it was a very picturesque area with the beech trees at just about the peak of their leaf colour, contrasting with their almost black trunks and branches.

I'm sharing two photographs created with the same ten images but using two different methods, one in-camera as a multi-exposure, the other with the now familiar Pep Ventosa method.  I'd be interested in a quick straw poll as to which you prefer.  

For the multi-exposure I was able to take advantage of the overlay function on the Nikon Z6, allowing me to align the individual frames against the previous image taken on the rear monitor.  I'm tending to only work a small arc of perhaps 10 to 15 degrees so that I retain some detail in the branches as well as the tree trunk.  I have a setting that keeps the individual frames that make up the multi exposure so that I can process them Pep Ventosa style in Photoshop.  The lack of any sunlight caused me to do a few more multis, which I'm also sharing as I seem to have plenty of extras left to use up before 1st January.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.