Swann6

By Swann6

Fun at the Scout Auction

I go to this charity auction with friends every year, It's such fun, organised by the local Scout group, auctioning thousands of donated items which today ranged from teapots to giant watering cans (as you can see!). There was even a canoe! It's a nice way to just sit back for a while and watch. The auctioneers and helpers are very funny, and refreshments are on hand. My friend and I worked out that we have been going for, we think, 16 years, we used to take the kids who are now all grown up, so we have lots of memories - of things we bought (the very first year she bought a piano for £1) and donated (one sad year, my younger daughter decided to give away all her soft toys - it nearly broke my heart) and have bought and then sent back a year or two later (a writing bureau, a running machine...). Anyway, it was a great day and I only bought one item - a gardening tool. The Scouts raised about £5000 today. Not bad for so much junk:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.