Flying-leap

By flying

Windy......

.....by 6.30am I was strolling through my garden with a cuppa in hand. It was so peaceful as sunlight streamed through the garden creating long shadows and touching places which are usually dark. Birds chirped from the tree tops and flew down to fossick for grubs or take an early morning dip in the bird bath. 

One thing led to another, it wasn't longer before the secateurs were in my hand and I was quietly clipping back spring foliage which had overtaken a brick path connecting the front and back of the garden. And then the loppers came out and the clipping back became a bit more serious but was I still enjoying the morning, so peaceful and calm. A short break for breakfast at 10.30am was required as I'd completely got carried away and my tum was rumbling. A short natter to mum on the phone before I was out there again.

I'd wanted to weed around the back of the house in the shade before it got too hot but by now it was already 25C, the sun was strong and hot and the shade was almost gone, the race was on! I just managed to finish as the sun was beating down upon the back of my neck, I was pleased with my efforts and promptly went in for a latish lunch. 

As I headed out for another hour the wind was getting up, warm and gusty and I knew my eyes wouldn't cope for too long. I managed to work in the shade along the western fence before the wind got the better of me. From this point on the wind became so strong things were moving down the veranda, trees were twisting backwards, forwards and twirling in between, birdlife became quiet while planes overhead were all airlines. The wind continued well into the evening, howling round the corners of the house, our fireplace whistling as the wind made it's way down the chimney, a dreadful piecing sound.

And then all went quiet.....so, so quiet in the dark of the night and ever so calm as the day had started.

Happy Saturday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.