Pink's photos

By PinkTransit

a bowl of fruit

A New Year healthy diet resolution is working :-)

This does, however, bring to mind a comment made while studying one of the first OU modules I did: AA100, Understanding the Arts. I thought that if I was going to put myself out of my comfort zone and start studying, then I would really go out of my comfort zone, and study an Arts course. My entire background had been science and maths based, so Arts was a new area.
One assignment was a comparison of two paintings, both of a bowl of fruit, sitting on a wooden surface with a piece of material draped in the background.
The comparison itself was easy - this one had a different perspective from that one, there was a different composition of fruit/wood/material in each, etc. The textbook however, did try to convince me that each painting was a commentary on the social mores of the time at which the painting was done.
My response .... No, it's not a commentary on anything. It's an f...ing bowl of fruit!
I decided after that to study social sciences. Art was never going to be my forte..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.