Poppy

By Poppy

She's seen me!

Here was I, squatting in amongst the heather and the long wet grass at the top of the cliff, trying to watch the seals, being as quiet as I could be, but mother seal spotted me.  Lottie was snuffling in the undergrowth, so it wasn't her that gave us away.  

We'd been there for a while, it was wonderful to watch them.  The big male was at the water's edge and there was a lot of "singing" going on between the adults.  The pup was asleep at first, woke up and squirmed his way over to his mother for a feed. His mother scratched him with her flipper as he fed and then she turned over onto her belly and started to head down the beach.  That's when I moved and she spotted me!

There aren't usually seals on this bit of beach but we have had a lot of bad weather from the east and it would be a nice sheltered spot for them.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.