Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Flag

I walked down the canal to Apperley Bridge. Most of the leaves have fallen now but even in repose are lending colour to the landscape. It was nice to see a few Mandarin ducks along the way.

I was heading down to the football pitches at Woodhouse Grove School, where Bradford City Women were hosting Ripon City Ladies in a West Riding FA County Cup tie. This is the home of the Bradford City  Academy and also the training ground for men's first team.  Today's game was on the 3G pitch but the few spectators were welcomed into the 'cage.'

Taking up a position on the half-way line on the opposite side of the pitch to the coaching staff and substitutes I was approached by the referee who was wanting a volunteer to raise a line flag when the ball went out of play, there not being line officials for county cup fixtures. Once I'd been assured that I could stand in one spot and didn't have to run up and down, and that it was just 'ins and outs' I accepted the responsiility bestowed upon me.  I think I just about managed ok, although it did mean I didn't try to take any pictures of the match and I thought it best not to applaud each time City scored. City were dominant, as they should have been given their higher status, but Ripon defended well. It was 2-0 at half-time and then City pulled away toward the end, 6-0 being the final score.

It took me an hour and a quarter to walk to the match. It took me two hours to get home on public transport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.