What a lovely surprise

Today, as is the custom for people with birthdays in our family, we had Pie, Mash, vegetables and gravy, followed by Eton Mess (first time I've made meringues and they were very good!). It was my choice although my birthday isn't until Wednesday.
Joanne, Daniel and the children came around and Julia made it with her friend and the twins. Johanna, Luke and Ruby couldn't make it as Ruby was ill yesterday and although she seems much better today they didn't want to take any chances.
Joanne handed me a present which turned out to be a helicopter experience. She had remembered that a few months ago I had said that despite flying many thousands and thousands of miles in all sorts of aircraft, including a Nimrod and a Shackleton, I'd never been in a helicopter.
What a great present, I shall look forward to booking this. I'll try to pick a week when the weather is looking a little better than all the rain we are having at the moment.
Thanks Joanne and Daniel, lovely present and totally unexpected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.