fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Streamlet

...down yonder green valley where streamlets meander
      amidst the dark shade of that lonely ashgrove.....

one of my all time favorite traditional Welsh/Irish tunes....the Ash Grove.  go here for tune    I learned to sing this in girl scouts .  My mom was the leader of our troop from first grade til twelve grade...all the way through high school our troop stuck together ...largely due to the influence of my mom .  She was a strong woman who believed in the girl scouts and tried hard to keep up all in "line" and tried to teach us to be good scouts and follow the golden rule.  She took us on many campouts and lodge overnights.. She put up with ...well she didn't put up with I should say....many shananagans that we girls did.  I remember one time her hearing dice rolling across the floors above her and came upstairs yelling to stop playing craps....I had NO idea what craps were??lol.    Anyhow I'm sure my mom's patience was put to the test many many times and yet she persevered to lead us when being in a troop in high school wasn't all that popular.  But long after the troop disbanded after high school many of the girls now grown up visited or wrote my mom.  I think she was a steady positive influence on many of their lives.  I remember how surprised she was when a good friend of mine told her later on that seeing my mom out here while she was visiting us in Seattle was a highlight of her trip....really touched my mom to hear that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.