Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

A holiday souvenir

‘Ow much?!’ is a phrase that will leave the mouths of most Yorkshire folk whenever they spend even the smallest amount of money. They like a bargain and aren’t afraid to admit it.

Consequently, being a Tyke by birth and married to a Scots lass, I'm a bit of a skinflint when it comes to holiday souvenirs; I generally bring back a rock or something similar as a memento. So this is a bit of a Roman pot that I found in a molehill while we were wandering along Hadrian's wall last week.

I have photographed it sitting in a copper ashtray that I made in the school metalwork class when I was 12 years old.Thankfully the foul tobacco weed has never passed my lips but over the years the ashtray has proved to be a useful photographic prop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.