Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Common Brown butterfly (female)

I can see why this butterfly is called the Common Brown when it is in rest mode on a tree branch...it's wings together and it's beautiful markings hidden from view. A view of it with wings open can be seen at previous blip Common Brown female. At the time of taking the original I thought it was called a Monarch Butterfly but managed to identify it using the internet.

There are still a lot of birds coming into the yard but I remain too slow to focus, adjust exposure, compose picture and shoot. I will go out for another practice session this afternoon and hopefully before I leave Margaret River I will have photographed some of the lively little skittish birds that grace the garden.

This morning was spent with Pete, Claire and Max at Cowaramup Bay, Gracetown. Max certainly takes after his father with his love of the water and he shows no fear as he loses his footing and gets dunked underwater. He invariably comes up with a big smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.