rb231

By rb231

Fifty words for (lack of) snow

Since the snow of 2010 I've become super sceptical about forecasts of snow; both from tittle-tattle and from professional sources. Everyone seems to have invested so much in snow shovels and tyre treads and become such experts in arctic survival that we all seem desperate for another serving of snow to surpass the demands of the last flurry. Given that this was a one-off freak amount I think they'll be waiting a long time while Scandinavian snow shovels gather dust in garages and outhouses.

We've had the usual crop of weather warnings for heavy snow over the weekend. My photo today of this tiny clump of flakes caught in the instant between landing and melting away show the extent to which the threat of catastrophe has materialised. Of course, saying this out loud will no doubt be followed by UK being plunged into a new ice age and me having frozen egg on my chin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.