Dogs' Bottoms

Two hospital appointments for MrQ today and he was seen on time at both. :) People watching for me while I waited. Animal print is alive and well, fluffy and mammal for the older women, slinky and reptile for the younger. There was a dictionary and thesaurus on the table of reading matter in one waiting room. I didn't need to look up the Greek root of bariatric, I had heard it on University Challenge the other day.

My medlars are an EB. I took the shot hoping that I would get the opportunity to better it. The tree is on the bank of our neighbour's lake. Maybe I'll ask if I can have a few to store in a cool place until they go dark brown and soften, basically start to rot. This is called bletting. The fruit is unpalatable until this happens. Because of their appearance they have long been called 'open arse' and DH Lawrence called them 'autumnal excrement'. To the French they're cul de chien - dog's arse. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.