Return to the North

By Viking

Pride

A bit of a self portrait so that you can see the lad next to me. Brett here is one of my former students. He was in my form for 5 years and I taught him once a week for 5 years too. When he left year 11 he gave me a card and inside it said ‘Thanks for keeping me in school miss’ (exact words I can remember 16 years later, I kept the cars)
He left half way through year 12 to go work in a kitchen and from then onwards the only way is up. He eventually went to college to chef and has not looked back. He was telling me today how he set himself goals about where he wanted to be every couple of years. He’s worked in top kitchens around Yorkshire including The Devonshire Arms near Bolton Abbey (Michelin starred), head chef at Harvey Nichols in Leeds and now his own ‘string’ of restaurants in Harrogate and Leeds. And all by the age of 32!!!!
A friend (another one of his former teachers) and I went to have an absolutely divine lunch there today and he came over for a catch up. We keep in contact through Facebook and so had let him know I was coming and he’s said he would make sure he was there!
A very proud moment, love him to bits

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.