Historic Denver

I had a bit of a wander around before settling on a new restaurant (for me) for brunch. This is the neighbourhood called ‘Uptown’, or North Capitol Hill.

There are lots of historic houses and buildings in Denver (albeit that the city is not much more than 150 years old). The city is booming right now and there are lots of new condo developments and gentrification of older neighbourhoods. I do love the blend of old and new, but I know some of these beautiful old houses and other historic buildings are in danger. I’ve seen signs on some that reveal that developers are applying for ‘no historical significance’ which I can only assume means they want to tear them down and build something new. That makes me sad, as I much prefer the old!

I don’t think that any of these examples are in danger, but you can see the newer condos going up behind the top right and bottom left examples. The skyscraper in the top left was there when I lived in Denver in the 80s. I love it’s curved top! The building below it is the George Schleier Mansion, built in 1887. Designed by Denver’s famous architect, Frank Edbrooke, who is responsible for much of Denver’s early development, it thankfully DOES have historical significance and is currently being restored.

It was cooler today but still warm in the sun. By the time I finished my late breakfast and headed back to the hotel at about noon, the skies were dark again and by the time our flight was about to leave soon after 4pm it was snowing! We even had to be de-iced! Crazy Denver weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.